Ngā Kōrero

About us

The Tūpuna Maunga Authority

The Tūpuna Maunga Authority is the statutory authority established under the Ngā Mana Whenua o Tāmaki Makaurau Collective Redress Act 2014 to govern the fourteen Tūpuna Maunga (ancestral mountains) of Tāmaki Makaurau / Auckland. The inaugural hui was held in November 2014. 

The Authority represents a new era in the governance and management of the Tūpuna Maunga, ensuring that Mana Whenua world views, priorities and strong living connections, and continued public access that all communities have with these special places, is woven into their unified and cohesive long term care.

The Authority is comprised of equal membership from Ngā Mana Whenua o Tāmaki Makaurau and Auckland Council, together with Crown (non-voting) representative.

The Authority is independent of Auckland Council and has its own decision- making powers and functions. Auckland Council is responsible for the routine management of the maunga under the direction of the Tūpuna Maunga Authority and the Authority is seen as a tangible expression of the spirit of partnership between Ngā Mana Whenua and Auckland Council.



The members of the Tūpuna Maunga Authority are: 

Mana Whenua

Auckland Council


Paul Majurey
Marutūāhu Rōpū

Alf Filipaina
Deputy Chair
Ward Councillor, Manukau

Ministry for Culture and Heritage

Hauauru Rawiri
Marutūāhu Rōpū

Cathy Casey
Ward Councillor, Albert-Eden-Roskill


Bernadette Papa 
Ngāti Whātua Rōpū

Josephine Bartley
Ward Councillor, Maungakiekie-Tāmaki


Clay Hawke
Ngāti Whātua Rōpū

Chris Makoare
Deputy Chair, Maungakiekie-Tāmaki Local Board


Dennis Kirkwood
Waiohua Tāmaki Rōpū

Lemauga Lydia Sosene
Chair, Māngere-Ōtāhuhu Local Board


Zaelene Maxwell-Butler        
Waiohua Tāmaki Rōpū

Toni van Tonder
Member, Devonport-Takapuna Local Board




The Tūpuna Maunga Authority holds regular hui.

The 2022 hui dates are scheduled as follows:

14 February - 2.30pm

14 March - 3pm

28 March - Hui 73 of the Tūpuna Maunga Authority will be held at 1pm, 28 March 2022. Due to Covid-19 restrictions under the Red traffic light setting and what is reasonably practical, the meeting will be held electronically and a recording of the meeting will be made available online. 

23 May - 3pm. Hui 75 will be held electronically and a recording of the meeting will be made available online.

25 July - 3pm. Hui 77 will be held electronically and a recording of the meeting will be made available online.

15 August - 3pm

12 September - 3pm

The dates are subject to change.

The venues and hui start times are determined closer to the hui date and are publicly notified in the New Zealand Herald one week prior.



Due to Covid-19 lockdowns, some 2020 and 2021 hui have had to be held via online video conference. Video recordings of the open public sessions for these hui can be found on the Tūpuna Maunga Authority YouTube channel. The Hui Agenda and Minutes documents are below.



Hui Agenda and Minutes for the last 12 months are available for download below. 

Please email us at [email protected] to request the documents for earlier hui.



Media enquiries in relation to Tūpuna Maunga

If you are a news reporter and have a media enquiry, please email [email protected]

The Tūpuna Taonga Trust

Under the Ngā Mana Whenua o Tāmaki Makaurau Collective Redress Act 2014, ownership of the fourteen Tūpuna Maunga was transferred to the thirteen iwi/hapū of Ngā Mana Whenua o Tāmaki Makaurau.

The Tūpuna Taonga Trust is the legal entity set up to receive the cultural redress over these maunga on behalf of the thirteen iwi/hapū.

The Tūpuna Maunga are held by the Tūpuna Taonga Trust for the common benefit of the iwi/hapū and the people of Auckland.

The Trust has an overseeing role in the governance of the Tūpuna Maunga, ensuring they are managed in a manner consistent with the agreed Values identified in the Tūpuna Maunga Integrated Management Plan, and that there is no further degradation or permanent loss of these important sites.

A primary focus of the Trust is the enduring protection and appropriate use of the Tūpuna Maunga for generations to come.